Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Here are more results from some recent Nashville outings. Please feel free to comment, I’d love to have your feedback!

Here’s my take on the iconic Loveless Cafe sign. It’s been photographed a million times, but this is the first by me, and I couldn’t resist with the early morning fog in the background.

I thought I was through shooting on this particular day and was driving back home from downtown when I noticed the building sunset. This particular set of clouds to the south from my vantage point crossing the Demonbreun Street bridge started to light up. Knowing how fleeting the sunset color usually is, I frantically found a parking spot as soon as I crossed the bridge, grabbed the camera and sprinted back to the middle to try and capture the color before it faded completely. I managed to get a few good exposures of this Maxfield Parrish sky over the Gulch before it was gone.

Again, certainly not a new subject, but this was the first time for me to photograph the Natchez Trace Parkway Bridge in Williamson County. I took the time to walk all around it and got it from quite a few angles. This is one of my early favorites… it looks longer and leaner and more elegant and dramatic than a lot of the more typical shots I’ve seen.

Nashville has a lot of industrial decay, as I’m sure most good sized cities do. Chicago certainly did, but coming back to Nashville (my hometown) after many years away has led me to look at it differently than I think I would have otherwise. I was particularly struck for some reason by the roughly hand painted numbering on these storage tanks.

I love the juxtaposition of the abandoned flowered couch, which seems to be receding into the overgrowth, with the sign reading “Warning: this area protected by neighborhood watch.”

The geometric abstraction of these storage tank step shadows was particularly sharp on this bright, sunny day.

Okay, that’s it for now. More to come, and I promise not to take so long next time. And please visit me on Facebook and “like” Rick Smith Photography if you’ve enjoyed these images. Thanks!

