Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Here’s the promised follow up to the downtown Nashville Street Photography from a couple of posts back. I put up some of these on Facebook a couple of days ago and got a great response, thanks for that!

I know I was away from Nashville for a few years (okay, a lot of years), but can someone please tell me when the short skirt and boots, or short shorts and boots, or sundresses and boots outfit became the standard look for women here in the summertime? Is it literally a Daisy Duke thing? Or did this cowboy chic look predate that movie remake? Now the look seems to be spreading everywhere with current popular icons like Taylor Swift and other performers leading the way.

I hope this never gets painted over.

Legends Corner, corner Broad and 5th Avenue. This is one of my favorite spots to capture what appear to be double exposures with the performance stage just inside the window overlaid with reflections of the Lower Broad street view.

Here are two shots, inside and out, of the always popular Ernest Tubb Record Shop. I especially love the mother and daughter pink cowboy hats.

As I’ve always suspected, Elvis is up there looking down, watching us all.

Street musicians at Lower Broad and 2nd. She was great on the spoons. My favorite touch is the suitcase mounted cymbal.

Another shot from Legends Corner.

I’ll wrap this up with a little personal history and typographic nerdy-ness. This is a shot of Nashville’s Customs House, a bit of Victorian Gothic architecture that I’m quite fond of for its over-the-top use of ornament… that makes it fun to photograph (my overly dramatic low angle shot makes it look like Batman should live here!). The personal history is this… around thirty years or so ago I was an intern at a Nashville architecture firm (Gresham, Smith and Partners), making money for college, and a Customs House rehab was one of the projects on which I worked. I drew the plans for a graphics overhaul, including this “CUSTOMS HOUSE” typography over the main entry (there was no name identification there until 1982). To visually fit this curving Gothic arch band, which becomes wider toward the top, the letters had to be slightly larger at the top and reduced bit by bit moving down on each side. But I noticed from my visit that the center “S” is much too small. It’s the same size as the “C” and “E”. So at some point over the years this “S” was replaced, and whoever did it must have just measured the lowest letters and went from there. Hello Customs House, this looks really dumb! Please fix your “S”!

I’ll post the results from more street photography sessions as I work on them… they’re always fun and inspiring to me.

